A&K M249 Upgrade Nightmare

Discussion in 'Gun Building, Modifications & Repairs' started by Valkyrie64, May 30, 2019.

1. Valkyrie64

Valkyrie64 New Member

Poulsbo
    So last thanksgiving I got it into my head that my A&K M249 needed some upgrades. My thinking was "It's a beast stock, imagine what it'll do with some upgrades!" The upgrades were extensive and expensive (see list below for the parts I added). I didn't do the work myself, I'm not experienced at all, let alone enough to do something like this. Now, 6 months later, the damn thing hasn't worked since. From the very beginning it was a charlie foxtrot. Broken gear shafts, lack of sufficient battery power, wiring issues, feed failures, poor air seal. Some of those are even repeat offenders, but most have been resolved. Currently, the gun works, but it keeps snapping gear shafts, typically after less than a thousand rounds. The problem is that the gears sit crooked in the stock gearbox shell, and the high torque / high speed motor keeps snapping them like twigs. The techs I paid to do these upgrades are good, they do far more extensive upgrades on a regular basis, so I don't think they are to blame. I also had another tech take a brief look at it, and he say the gear problem as well. The problem is most likely that the gearbox shell is a POS, and the holes that the gear shafts fit into are actually crooked. I've looked everywhere online, and it seems that the general consensus is that the A&K M249 gearbox shell is generally of pretty decent quality, so I'm at a total loss as to what the heck happened. Does anyone have any idea what I can do? I was looking at getting the Matrix CNC M249 gearbox shell offered on Evike, but its been out of stock for months. I'm don't know if anyone can actually tell me anything that can save my gun, but I'm pretty desperate right now. I have never posted anything on forums right now, so if I did something wrong, tell me but don't attack me over it.

Upgraded Parts Added: