Aeg vs. Gbb

Discussion in 'What Gun Should I Get?' started by CrimsonWolfAirsoft, Dec 7, 2012.

1. CrimsonWolfAirsoft

CrimsonWolfAirsoft New Member

Now, before I'm attacked and labeled a bias, let me just say that this is with my experience and opinion of the big debate of AEG vs GBB. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Please, share it below. Just don't be mean about it.

I've been playing airsoft for about a good four years. I've come to develop my take on the AEG vs GBB question. The way I see it, many factors have to be put in to really see which is better for which person.

First off, are you a speed ball player or straight up milsim? If you are a speed ball kind of guy, you're probably going to go with an AEG for its high FPS. If you are a milsim, you are most likely going to go for a GBB for its kick and realisim.

Secondly, what's the price range you're going for? What's your budget? AEGs are mostly a beginner's gun. They are cheaper and can start off in the $20 range (doesn't mean that a $20 gun is practical. I remember my first airsoft gun haha ohhh Dick's :) the moments we shared). GBB are usually more high end airsoft guns starting around $230 sometimes the weird price of $150. Price is really going to be a huge factor in this.

Thirdly, maintenance. GBBs take a lot more maintenance than AEGs. Some people like this, some people don't. GBBs require you to clean your parts, use graphite, gun oil, ect. AEGs don't really need a cleaning like a GBB would. Sure you might have to do a check up on the gearbox and make sure everything is nice and peachy, but GBBs, like real steels, just have a lot of mechanical things that move and need to be check a lot more. Some people have no problem with keeping maintenance and don't find it a chore.