Average FPS of Airsoft Fields

Discussion in 'Gun Building, Modifications & Repairs' started by TheGoodfellow, May 10, 2018.

1. TheGoodfellow

TheGoodfellow New Member

Lake Geneva
    Hey,

I'm pretty new to the industry, but I've played paintball for over 10 years (I know there very different). I am trying to figure out what the average fps is for commercial fields? The company I work for is looking to potentially add airsoft to their recreational activities, and we need to figure out the average velocity of guns. Also is it very difficult to change the fps on a airsoft gun? On a paintball gun its just a simple screw that is loosened or tightened. I am looking for answers for every type of gun.. I know it can vary based on the gun, but which is more difficult? Or are they all about the same when it comes to changing the fps? Thanks.

Topshotz357 likes this.
  2. Overwatch97

Overwatch97 Active Member

It varies and usually depends on the average engagement distances of a certain setup.

Generally speaking, on average outdoor fields usually have an FPS limit of around 400 fps for AEGs, with snipers allowed up to 500 fps with a 100 foot minimum engagement distance, which means they can’t be shot at any closer with those weapons. For indoor CQB, the limit is usually around 300-350 FPS, Depending on how tight it is.

All of these measurements are with .20 gram bbs. Heavier BBs, such as an 0.25 for example, which is needed to make a weapon that shoots 370 FPS with a .20 more accurate at range, will decrease the FPS to around 330, (328= 1 Joule) and hopup has to be increased to put more spin on the heavier BB, which also reduces FPS.

Basically, always chrono AEGs with a .20, and chrono HPA guns with a ridiculously heavy BB like a .40 because they have “Joule Creep”, meaning they are less affected by heavier BBs I believe, but I think somebody else who knows more about HPA guns will have to explain that further.

Here a chart of FPS-Joules with different BB weights.