Best upgrades for this gun?

Discussion in 'Gun Building, Modifications & Repairs' started by LOLdotEXE, Jun 26, 2015.

1. LOLdotEXE

LOLdotEXE New Member

Oxford
    Planning on buying >this< and upgrading the internals as I go on.

I read >this< and I know what parts to get, I just don't know WHAT do get, as I have no experience in buying upgrades. If you don't want to look at the thread, he says it needs a piston head and cylinder, long motor, wiring, and 8mm bushings.

I'm looking to spend low on these parts, but not low enough to where I'm obviously missing out on something better. Does anyone have any recommendations as far as these parts go?

2. NeoAugAU-3G

NeoAugAU-3G Active Member

Las Vegas
    piston head - POM anything
    cylinder - they are a dime a dozen, NO difference between brands. either you get a seal or you dont
    long motor - anything neo magnet and high torque will work
    wiring - i buy mine at home depot, 16 or 18 gauge is fine for most uses
    bushings - solid steel, no cross pattern holes. i like lonex or shs, but zci are also good

total cost 60-100 depending on brands you choose.

3. TheInfidel23

TheInfidel23 Resident Derp Supporting Member

Greenville
    That thread and reviewer are garbage.

Now that we have that out of the way, onto business. I would first recommend that you examine your other budget-allowing options from other brands. The RL-8 does not have the blowback issue that the CM series does, but I would still look at your reasons for picking this gun. If its for looks, get another brand.

Second, the recommendations are not wrong, save one. You don't need a cylinder. However, the motor and piston head are the only priority parts in the list. The wiring and bushings are sufficient for a stock, tuned setup. As far as I see in your question, you have no performance goals in mind, only fixing flaws and problems to run better and more reliably.