Booby traps at airsoft games

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by Ramzes, May 9, 2016.

1. Ramzes

Ramzes New Member

Seattle
    Hi comrades!

I'm new to US airsoft. Watching tons of youtubers playing airsoft I got impression that nobody uses booby traps made out of grenades. I also couldn't find any restrictions on using them in main milsim games rules.

Is there any known issue with using booby traps? What's your opinion on using booby traps on milsim/regular games? :confused:

2. bryanman

bryanman Member

Canada
    Fairly sure people do use booby traps like mines and tripwired grenades. However, most mines are fairly useless, or expensive and unreliable. Tripwired grenades (such as the specific thunder B) takes a fair amount of time to detonate. Aside from all this, if you aren't there to watch it happen, a lot of the time it encourages cheating and someone will simply not call the hit. And if you can see them, may as well shoot them.

3. Ramzes

Ramzes New Member

Seattle
    You can greatly benefit from them when you use them for defense.
    What I'm hearing is there's no issues using traps in games. Thanks :)

4. mikejosephman

mikejosephman Moderator Alligator Staff Member Moderator

Medieval England
    If you are referring to homemade things, then probably not.
    If you are talking about using airsoft impact/timer grenades in a matter
    not consistent with their intended use, then probably not.

Most if not all airsoft simulation grenades rely on Co2 or propane to "detonate".
    They are meant for distraction and surprise but not for use in extreme close proximity to a person.

A tripwire grenade could cause serious damage to a person(s)' hearing if it goes off
    right next to them. Or if you set up a sequence of them to go off at the same time.

Stay safe and just play with what's out there.

5. TheInfidel23

TheInfidel23 Resident Derp Supporting Member

Greenville