Complete new guy

Discussion in 'General Airsoft Discussion' started by fordie83, Dec 5, 2015.

1. fordie83

fordie83 New Member

I'm completely new to airsoft and look on forums, read magazines and speak to people and it sounds like another language.
    What do I need to start and what's the differences between souring, gas, battery etc?

2. Rushin

Rushin Well-Known Member

Kalamazoo
    Not sure exactly what you want to know, but there are three different types of guns as of now:

Spring:

Unless it's a TM, or a sniper rifle, stay away from it, these are crappy, low quality guns, no matter what retailers tell you.

Gas: They use propane as fuel (or the Japanese version, green gas, which is a highly overpriced unscented propane) these guns are usually more realistic, featuring recoil and a moving bolt like a real gun. Most of the time, gas is filled into the magazine of the gun, along with the ammo. These guns are my personal favorite but do poorly in cold, due to propane's expansive properties. Some gas guns also use the small Co2 cartridges you can find in sporting goods stores, I'd stay far, far away from Co2 guns. Most of the time they propel the BB far too fast to be safe, and are generally of low quality.
    One last type of gas is HPA, there are a variety of High Pressure Air systems out there, they will always use an external tank, and are the most sought-after and expensive weapons. We wont go too far into these as you wont (and shouldn't) be owning these any time soon.

The last one:
    Electric, more commonly known as AEG. They use a small motor, gears, a spring, and a battery to propel the BB. These are the favorite of the airsoft community, as many aftermarket parts are available to tweak/change performance.

3. Airsoft444

Airsoft444 Mad Scientist Supporting Member

Milwaukee
    Hmmm, much to learn there is, young Padawan.

Try this guide and some others like it for basic info. http://m.instructables.com/id/Intro-to-Airsoft/