D boys scar DMR

Discussion in 'Gun Building, Modifications & Repairs' started by dodger0729, Sep 6, 2012.

1. dodger0729

dodger0729 New Member

I want to upgrade my D boys Scar L. Unfortunately I'm new to gun building and I've taken the gearbox apart cleaned and regreased it. I have 200-300 dollar price limit. This will be something I do over time and would like to know what I should upgrade first. My fps limit is 400 and i would like to keep it hitting that hard. I also would loke a lot of accuracy. I don't care about rof.

Last edited: Sep 6, 2012
  2. Blades

Blades New Member

First of all, a DMR is semi-auto only, so you can either choose a real DMR or long-range AEG. A good barrel (Prometheus for great performance, Madbull for good performance), new hopup bucking (Madbull has worked fine for me). That and a new all metal hopup chamber would suit you well as far as accuracy upgrades go. Don't have any suggestions on the hopup chamber though, do some more research on that.

3. dodger0729

dodger0729 New Member

So I shouldn't do anything to the gearbox or get a new piston, spring, etc.? It is hitting consistently at four hundred fps with stock parts but I don't trust them for some reason.

4. ShooterMcgavin

ShooterMcgavin New Member

New Port News
    Well look at the stickies in this section they give you an idea of what you should be looking for when upgrading. The Scar isnt really meant to be a DMR. Though you can make it into one but it will take time, TLC, and money, all of which you have. I would recommend instead to make a very accurate gun that isnt specifically a dmr that has good range, trigger response, and good ROF. Again the stickies in this section explain how to do alot of this.

5. dodger0729

dodger0729 New Member