Danerd's M14 Overhual

Discussion in 'Gun Building, Modifications & Repairs' started by danerd, Jun 16, 2017.

1. danerd

danerd Well-Known Member

Ozark
    The M14 is a platform I have always had a spot for. Between the classic look, smooth, sleek lines, and the (in my opinion) contrast between a fine wood stock and steel upper assembly is nice piece of eyecandy. I finally got a chance to pick up a CYMA CM.032A for a near steal and jumped on it. (traded a JG G36K I put back together in an afternoon for it).

This thread will document my travels with this particular rifle platform: the changes I make, notes about the rifle, and initial and expected performance. This will not be a project that will be done in a week, or even a few weeks, but I will do my best to keep this thread up-to-date with my plans and any modifications I make on a regular basis.

BACKROUND

Ive been playing airsoft for 10 years and teching for the past 7. Ive built and done just about everything, save for a DSG and ER hop. Although this build may just test my skills at ER hopping. We'll have to see ;) It will be the third 7.62-style rifle I have personally done, and the first M14 I have actually built into something.

(3/10/2019 EDIT: I finally did build a DSG...All thats left now is the ER-hop)

INITIAL IMPRESSIONS

I obtained the rifle (and a few extras) from someone on HopUp. I will not mention names, but the person knows who they are ;) The rifle arrived in a large box, untypical of some of the more recent CYMA ones I have seen. Its decorated with a large picture of the rifle, model number and a few lines of text on a black background. Inside was the gun, 470rd steel hicap mag, the factory 9.6v battery and a G&P 9.6v the seller included. I made the switch to lipos years ago, so the nimh batteries are useless to me. Perhaps a few of my teammates who run them will have a use for them...