Discussion: Are we overly obsessed with Airsoft gun performance?

Discussion in 'General Airsoft Discussion' started by link0, May 14, 2018.

1. link0

link0 Active Member

San Jose
    Let me intro by saying that I'm actually pretty new to playing airsoft. I've been playing for around a year, but have become fairly knowledgeable about guns and their performance from obsessive researching and tinkering. I used to be the same way about road cycling, where I would tinker with and obsess about having the best Dura Ace components and lightest possible carbon fiber wheels, more than actually riding (I suck at riding). I'm realizing that there is massive diminishing returns for performance in Airsoft, just like cycling. A gun that's twice as expensive will usually only perform 1-2% better.

Most of the fields local to me are fairly short range (under 80ft engagements), but I've had the chance recently to drive further out to some longer range fields. It was a pretty windy day, and boy was I surprised.

My two rifles were shooting at 400fps limit of the field and all have Rhops, blah blah, etc. My red dot and my 4x scope were zeroed. I used 0.3g BBs (washed too, lol). However, I didn't feel like I had any real advantage over any basic stock combat machine. The presence of wind made accuracy pretty laughable. The use of scopes felt pointless too as tracing the BBs visually was far more effective than relying on the scope's zero. I noticed that the best/most successful player there (he was really good) didn't even have iron sights on his gun and was running it bare (I'm assuming he has a lot of skill with quickly tracing his shots).

I also noticed that pretty much everyone had about the same effective range (around 170ft or so). Having an extra 20 ft of extra maximum range is pretty negligible, when the BBs were being blown everywhere by the wind past a certain distance, it just became a game of spray and pray.