Do i need a mosfet for a lipo battery?

Discussion in 'Electric Guns' started by BCB_Airsoft, Aug 12, 2012.

1. BCB_Airsoft

BCB_Airsoft New Member

Vacaville/Fairfield
    I have never used lipo's before. Ive always used the same 9.6v for 1 1/2 years and now im thinking of a lipo. Im planning on getting a 7.4v 1200 mAh battery for my old JG M4 S-System with some minor internal upgrades. My only concern is, will the 7.4v lipo mess up my aeg without a mosfet, or is it completely ok to use it without a mosfet? Thanks. - Adrian

2. theonlyBuster

theonlyBuster Active Member Lifetime Supporter

S. Florida
    No, you don't need it. It's just a recommendation.
    I've been using an 11.1v high discharge brick of a Lipo battery for about 2years now with no problems. The mosfet basically minimizes the carbon that builds up on your trigger contacts.

I choose not to use a mosfet because trigger contacts are only about $5-$10 and if you shoot your airsoft gun properly, they last a few years. So with that said I personally choose not to use one. But others will disagree. But in the end of the day, it's really up to you. Just know and understand the risks before choosing to go with or without it.

3. RCV

RCV New Member

Buster is right. A 7.4 is perfectly fine and a 11.1 is still ok. Your gun may not run a 11.1 for a long time in stock form.

I've run most of my guns without mosfets on big 11.1s for a long time with no issues. I do, however, clean them of carbon often. A mosfet would eliminate that, but I don't see much of an issue. The mosfet hype is a bit much.

4. alex

alex New Member

Atlanta
    not all AEG's are the same. some trigger contacts are more sensitive than others.

here's an L86 running a 7.4v 20c 2200mAH (no mosfet). it came in with trigger issues.
    [​IMG]