Duster Gas in Metal Hi Capa

Discussion in 'Gas Powered Guns' started by gb65, Sep 10, 2012.

1. gb65

gb65 New Member

I'm new to Airsoft and this forum as well but not new to shooting. Got some great info in the newbie section and it led to more research and questions. Don't have an Airsoft pistol yet.

Found that the Marui Hi-Capa's need to run on duster gas and their pistols have a plastic slide. Also found if you use Duster gas on the metal slide units like KWA, KJA, WE you'll probably get jams as it doesn't have enough power to operate it properly. In real 45's, you can swap out the recoil spring for lighter or heavier loads and it will operate fine.

In the full metal 1911's, can you get a lighter recoil spring or make some type of modification so it will work with the duster gas instead of the more powerful green/propane gas? I'm looking to shoot in my basement and with the cold weather coming won't have windows open much and see the propane could be a problem without good ventilation.

Are these GBB's using green/propane really intended as outdoor guns?

Thanks!!

2. Shiftyshooter

Shiftyshooter Learn from your mistakes. Lifetime Supporter

Prague
    TMs do not need to run on Duster Gas. They will do just fine on Green Gas. Been running mine on GG and never had any problems with them.

3. Lil_Shady

Lil_Shady Administrator Staff Member Lifetime Supporter

^this.

Been runnin my TM 5-7 on straight propane for almost 2 years without any major issues. Only thing is it has issues firing when it's hot, due to the increased pressure.

4. Knief

Knief Moderator Staff Member

Ann Arbor