Echo 1 redstar CPM (AKS-74u)

Discussion in 'Gun Building, Modifications & Repairs' started by Kopis, Nov 19, 2012.

1. Kopis

Kopis New Member

I currently own this gun and its really starting to bore me I am a terrible technician so I am looking to install a 11.1v lipo, Echo 1's website claims its lipo ready but that's true for most decent guns it's just a matter of how long they last on a lipo. I am wondering how long the gun will last before it breaks (keep in mind I shoot a lot), and what lipos do you recommend. Also what do I need to charge a lipo correctly.

2. corntato

corntato New Member

Get your lipos off a hobby website like hobbyking. Get a imax b6 charger. Look around for a good deal on one

Ive heard good things about redstar guns but the lipo will definitly shorten the life of your parts. But id say do it anyways and just upgrade the gun when you finally break something

3. Ehudakineyah

Ehudakineyah New Member

Mililani
    That gun stock can last about a couple months stock on heavy trigger play on a smaller 11.1v LiPo. (30 amps and lower just to be safer)

The gun is 7.4v LiPo ready lol. Same thing, I would try to stay in the 30 ish amp battery output range to be safe. Doesn't mean you can't. The fuse will blow at 30 anyways lol.

4. S1kkguy

S1kkguy New Member

London
    If anythings,your piston will fail first due to stripping, caused by the angle of engagement not being corrected. Never owned one of them so can't tell you their piston quality and the teeth. Stock spring shouldn't crack the reliable v3 gearbox so that's all good. 7.4v and you're good to go.

5. Kopis

Kopis New Member

I'm looking for a lot higher ROF than I'm currently getting of a 9.2v Nimh (right? Or did I completely screw that up), will switching to a 7.4 or an 11.1v lipo make than big of a difference? Or should I swap out the motor and get better gears, again I have no idea what I'm talking about and no idea how to do what I just said.

6. BlueReaper46