Getting a more reliable AEG

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by Ulster, Jul 8, 2020.

1. Ulster

Ulster New Member

Ventura
    I'm new to Airsoft and I have been carrying an ARES L1A1 at the outdoor field near me. While I love the look and feel of it and it does turn heads, I have found that even with a complete internal rebuild it is not the most reliable AEG and it is very LONG and I've been using it as a DMR.

Now with that being said, I would like to get a M4 for games that I'm not doing the DMR thing. I would like one that is very good right out the box but can be upgraded as my skill level and desire for even greater performance increase. Budget for this mythical AEG is around $300. Seriously, I am asking for real advice as I've been researching the different brands and I haven't been able to separate the Company propaganda and Fanboy chatter from real solid reviews. I have read some good things about Cyma and KWA but I'm open to suggestions from those more knowledgeable than I.

Thanks in advance!

2. Guges Mk3

Guges Mk3 Well-Known Member Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Minneapolis
    They are all decent...even at the $200 level if you just buy the basics. Add cuts, features and massive amounts of rails...and you pay for cosmetic bits more than "performance".

E&C are decent and you can get them for 240.00 shipped. I am about to import some more for local players.

Ulster likes this.

3. adas1223

adas1223 Well-Known Member

stratford
    A simple m4 cqbr can narrow your search. Further: full metal receiver and no mosfet. From what I can see, the basic trigger are more reliable than most pre installed mosfets. Plus leaves room for aftermarket etus.

Ulster likes this.
  4. Ulster

Ulster New Member

Ventura
    Thanks for the replies and advice. That gives me something to look deeper into.

cheers, Stephen

5. Miles Guy

Miles Guy New Member

Fort Worth