Help me pick a new, mid-level GBB rifle

Discussion in 'What Gun Should I Get?' started by audiobahn1000, Jun 6, 2015.

1. audiobahn1000

audiobahn1000 Member

So I am brand new to recreational airsoft, although I have done it a tad in the military for formal training. Anyway, I am going back and fourth between the low cost of an electric VS the realism of a GBB, and I think I just need to make up my mind and go with a GBB rifle. So this is what I am looking for:

- I play medium range courses with some CQB and some medium/ long range, but never "sniper" type long range.

- I am looking for something reasonably solid (e.g. metal upper would be nice if it's offered). My budget for the gun is probably around $350 excluding shipping, although I could do a bit more if it's worth it.

- I strongly prefer a tan rifle (or at least partly tan), and I require rails for a foregrip and ACOG sight.

-Rage limit is 400 FPS.

- If it's going to be gas it needs to have blow back otherwise it's kind of pointless to use gas.

Any suggestions? I was looking at the new WE SCAR Open Bolt, but it seems to be sold out everywhere. Example: http://www.redwolfairsoft.com/redwo...s_SMGs_WE_WE_SCAR_L_Open_Bolt_Version_Tan.htm

I really like the SCAR series.

2. moomoose

moomoose Member

Eagle
    The WE GBBR's are a solid platform (aside from their AK's which are notorious for having their trigger mechanism break after a couple thousand rounds). They're relatively reliable and user friendly, with wide part support, and they don't' break bank (well.... for a GBBR anyway....).
    I personally own the MSK (the ACR) and love it. However it has pretty bad cool down and the rail is a little wobbly.
    My buddy owns a WE M4 (and whenever he goes out of town I make sure to use it in a few games so it doesn't feel neglected :D). Out of the box it's a fun gun that's pretty average all around, however you can add all sorts of upgrades to increase recoil, power, range, etc.