Hole in the barrel?

Discussion in 'Sniper Rifles' started by jon_wallace95, Oct 28, 2012.

1. jon_wallace95

jon_wallace95 Well-Known Member

Ok so I am new to sniping an my gun got jammed so I opened it up an there is a ported hole going all the way through the barrel, clean hole straight through the side, is there a purpose for this? I'm thinking it may be for an upgrade like a hip up or something but idk, I just switched over from aegs bc I got bored of them, the gun shoots fairly well, but it is losing a lot of air pressure due to the hole in it. Can anyone tell me if that is supposed to be there for some purpose and what I should do about it, my friend says just tape it shut but I'm not sure that will do the trick.

2. Seyo

Seyo New Member

Behind you
    Don't tape it! It is absolutely normal for a barrel to have that hole. That is were the Hop Up bucking is being pushed through to give the BB backspin. If you tape it the BB won't get any backspin resulting in a shorter range.

3. TYSONtheSNIPER

TYSONtheSNIPER New Member

Edmonton
    I don't think he's talking about that hole...

OP: That sounds mighty strange. This is on your CYMA right? Any chance you could post a picture of the hole? It could be some stupid thing that CYMA decided to do with the gun. Just like on some JG Bar-10's they have a nozzle air restrictor. Basically it allows the user to use it safely or some mumbo jumbo... chances are you'll need a new barrel.

4. jon_wallace95

The hole is about halfway down the barrel and it is inside the outer barrel, not enough room for a hop up I think, the hole is big enough for a bb to fit through and is about 6-8 inches from the muzzle

5. jon_wallace95

The cyma doesn't have a hop up, but that might be where it is depending on how big the hop up is

6. TYSONtheSNIPER

Edmonton
    So the hole isn't in the inner barrel? It's just in the outer barrel?

7. jon_wallace95