How to fix wiring.

Discussion in 'Electric Guns' started by Phillies2406, Aug 20, 2012.

1. Phillies2406

Phillies2406 New Member

Okay here is my situation. I was taking the outer barrel-hop up assembly out of my gun. I found a wire that was stripped for about a quarter of an inch. Pieces of the copper were ripped apart but not all of it. My semi auto does not work well or even at all most of the time. My last match my full auto started to stop working for a little but then it got better. My question is how can if fix the wiring without replacing it. I don't want to replace it because I am new to teching.

2. Pashto

Pashto New Member

Mechanicsburg
    I think you're going to have to replace it. What you can do is cut out the torn section and solder in a new piece of wire and cover the solder joints with some shrink tubing. You won't have to open your gearbox at all.

3. Phillies2406

Phillies2406 New Member

Sodering is not an option. My dad does have a blow torch though. Could I squeeze the copper together then put electrical tape over it?

4. Urbanprodigy

Urbanprodigy New Member

I would not suggest that. If you can't solder then you have to open the gearbox

5. Phillies2406

Phillies2406 New Member

Where should I take it to be soldered then? The only place that i have soldered is in my school.

6. Pashto

Pashto New Member

Mechanicsburg
    The only way you could get it soldered at school would be if you took the gearbox out of the body. It also depends on your teacher. Soldering irons are ~$15 at any local hardware store.

7. Phillies2406

Phillies2406 New Member

My teacher is nice but I don't think he will. He may let me borrow a solder iron and some solder.

8. Finalencounter

Finalencounter Duke of Penguins Supporting Member

Warrenton