I'm starting airsoft

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by ISnipeUrFace, Sep 17, 2012.

1. ISnipeUrFace

ISnipeUrFace New Member

Hey, I'm new to airsoft and prefer sniping. Any tips (guns, gear, mod.s, Airsoft fields around MA.). I want to get the Type 96 (or MK96) sniper rifle from Airsoft megastore is this a good gun?

Ps. I have always liked sniping and have been a sniper in Call of Duty. I have also used real sniper rifles so don't tell me I'm not a sniper because I'm new.

2. Shiftyshooter

Shiftyshooter Learn from your mistakes. Lifetime Supporter

Prague
    Just so you know airsoft is nothing like "Call of duty" or "real sniper rifles". Both physics and mentality are totally different.
    How long have you been airsofting? Oh, right. You are just starting. If you can, get yourself a nice AEG and try to use single shots. That way, you will get a glimpse at what it is like.

When you like that, move onto sniper rifles. If you still like it, get upgrades.

3. 703

703 Active Member

webster
    +1 Sniping in video games is a lot different then being a sniper in airsoft. Generally you have to put a lot of upgrades into a sniper rifle to make it effective. Stock sniper rifles in airsoft arn't that great. Also shooting targets down a gun range doesn't qualify you to be a sniper.

Lots of new people have this perception that they want to be a airsoft sniper because they do it in video games or just like the concept so they go out and buy a sniper rifle and find out pretty quickly that it's not what it's cracked up to be and end up hating it.

Since you are just starting out I would agree with shifty. Get yourself a decent AEG. Maybe a M14 or SR-25. They make great platforms for DMRs but when you first get it you can play with it and get a feel for the game. From here you can either upgrade the AEG into an effective DMR or buy a sniper rifle and upgrade it if you like it.

Last edited: Sep 17, 2012
  4. AirsoftimusPrime

AirsoftimusPrime New Member