is it legal?

Discussion in 'General Airsoft Discussion' started by ktmflyboy, Jun 11, 2008.

1. ktmflyboy

ktmflyboy New Member

Hi i've been playing airsoft for about 2 or 3 years (but just in the backyard with firends) and i was wondering is it legal to play in your backyard if you live in the suburbs?

Last edited: Jun 11, 2008
  2. Locotus

Locotus New Member

you might want to explain to your neighbors what your doing first so they don't think you're running around with assault rifles

3. ktmflyboy

ktmflyboy New Member

Most of my neighbors know what they are, but, could you get a fine or a warning if seen by the police?

4. The War Store

The War Store New Member

Tonawanda
    possession of a replica firearm is a crime in many cities. discharging an airgun within city limits is a crime in most cities. if you point an airsoft gun at another person who at all feels threatened by your action, that is called menacing, and is a felony offense. possessing a replica firearm in public view is also a felony offense, and you can be charged with brandishing a firearm.

REMEMBER! if you commit any crime with an airsoft gun, you will be charged as if you had used a REAL firearm!

NEVER play airsoft in a public place. No person may openly display or expose any imitation firearm (replica firearm), in a public place. The term "public place" means an area open to the public or exposed to public view and includes streets, sidewalks, bridges, alleys, plazas, parks, driveways, parking lots, automobiles, whether moving or not, and buildings open to the general public, including those that serve food or drink, or provide entertainment, and the doorways and entrances to buildings or dwellings and the grounds enclosing them.

And, last but not least, if you are seen by the police, getting a fine or warning is the least of your worries. you may very well be SHOT by the police!