Is it possible to tweak spring FPS output?

Discussion in 'Gun Building, Modifications & Repairs' started by Dwosky, Feb 27, 2018.

1. Dwosky

Dwosky Member

For my ICS I've purchased two different Guarder springs, one SP120 and one SP130, since I wasn't sure which one would let me near the 450 FPS limit I have in my field. The problem is that neither leave me there. The SP120 gives 415 FPS and the SP130 470 FPS.

Talking with the store clerk he told me something like adding shims or something like that to the SP120 in order to reduce the space it has to compress and thus gain some FPS in the process. Has anyone do or find anything regarding this issue?

I could also cut the SP130 a little, but I'm no expert and I'm not sure how much should I take. Also I believe the end result might not be as good as the whole thing.

2. Guges Mk3

Guges Mk3 Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Minneapolis
    Do you have bearings on your AEG Piston head or Spring guide? If you do...remove them. Not needed if you have a sliding spacer on the spring guide...bearings is a solution for a problem that does not exist any more. If you have both it will definitely drop you under 450 on your M130.

3. Peeque

Peeque Well-Known Member Supporting Member

Lancaster
    I've had to cut springs a couple times to get under the fps limit. I would do one coil at a time until you get to where you want. Make sure you cut on the end that goes in the piston and then bend where you cut so that it's flat like it was, otherwise it can dig into your piston head and cause all kinds of fun problems. If you have spacers I would do that instead so you don't have to cut up a spring.

4. BOA_SP3CT3R

BOA_SP3CT3R Moderator Staff Member Moderator Supporting Member

Bull Shoals
    How's your air seal? I'd think you'd get more than 415 on an SP120(~m130). Improve air seal, add spacers, maybe piston weight, and you'll get more fps.

5. Uller

Uller Well-Known Member

Topeka