Airsoft Forum banner

Locking Gears A&K m249

3K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  BoogerMc 
#1 ·
My m249 PARA I bought used has been having trouble ever since I bought it. It was intermittently locking for the last two months, but one day the motor burned out. It has been consistently locking up since I installed a Prometheus m120 spring, a G&P m120 high-speed motor, and a new trigger switch(original was cracked). I left the original gear set. I am fairly new to gearboxes, but nothing obvious seems to be the problem. I have checked the batteries, my 9.6v NiMH is working fine, and the motor itself seems to work fine as well. I have tried to shim my gearbox properly, but as this is my first gun to need tech work, I do not know what exactly to do. I have also cleaned and greased the gearbox, this has helped some. Any ideas?

#2 · (Edited)
I suggest you try to reshim it again using the bevel to pinion method. I'm assuming the gears are shim too tight which may cause the lock up. Make sure there are a little movement for the gear but not too much. I normally leave my gears with a small movement of 0.1mm. I also suggest that you might get a less powerful spring since the g&p is a high speed motor and the m120 is really pushing it. A m100 is what most high speed motors should use. If you have the money, go with the shs high speed or lonex a1 instead since they are way more powerful than the g&p and uses neo magnets.

#3 ·
As kind of an expert on this gun, I would suggest going a different route, replace the high speed motor with a high torque and stick with your current spring. I suggest either an SHS or ZCI motor, a Lonex A2 Orange is also good but pricey and the other two can be found much cheaper and do the same job. As for shimming, these gearboxes are a little more difficult to shim because of how they are designed, but they're not impossible.