Noob question, ICS Sig 551 Swat, lipo or no?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by TheHeckboy1, Oct 13, 2015.

1. TheHeckboy1

TheHeckboy1 New Member

I'm relatively new to Airsoft. Goofing around with friends, planning on travelling to a big game sometime in the near future.

In the past ive played in a lot of "Big Game" paintball games. (PA D-DAY etc,) so new but not a total newb.

In a latenight drunken episode I ordered a PP-19 Bizon off of evike and have been mostly satisfied with my purchase.

But the lady that really caught my eye was the ICS SIG 551 SWAT, after lusting after her for a month or so I stumbled on a fantastic, nay, irresistible deal.

Needless to say, my new date arrives tomorrow, and lo-an behold, I only have an 11.1 1200mh stick battery. Can I use it to test out my new SIG without damaging anything? The S&T Bizon specifically states "lipo ready" where the SIG does not.

I know ICS is one of the top tier manufactures, once you reach a certain level is Lipo ready, just assumed?

Help prevent me from accidentally damaging my new love.

2. theonlyBuster

theonlyBuster Active Member Lifetime Supporter

S. Florida
    I'll spare you my "Lipo Ready" rant and simply say that the phrase is TOTALLY pointless and very asinine. How pointless and asinine? It's the equivalent of saying car is 93Octane-Ready. (93 Octane = Premium gasoline).

Use the battery for testing and light play is fine, but ultimately plan on getting a lower voltage low to medium output 7.4v Lipo OR a NiMh battery. And for the record, this goes for ANY gun, mid shelf or top level. Some things need to be gun after purchasing, and these things simply are not properly done in the manufacturing stage. Not to say they're bad, but that they ONLY really good enough on low to medium stress rather than the increased stresses of a high output battery.