Rifled barrels

Discussion in 'General Airsoft Discussion' started by 6GUN, Oct 6, 2012.

1. 6GUN

6GUN New Member

Tried the search feature but it didn't spit anything out. Is there a rifled barrel out there for an m4 carbine or any other airsoft guns or is it something unpractical?

2. Rainbow

Rainbow New Member

The BBs can't take the spin and will break up inside the barrel. They are just too weak for a rifled barrel. Also, the BBs are round so I suspect that they would get little help out of the barrel (don't quote me on that).

3. Archer627

Archer627 New Member

Figgington
    The TK Twist barrel is the only one out there IIRC.

Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  4. L5132

L5132 New Member

Duluth
    Yup, TK twist. It only works for around TM velocity, though. It doesn't actually rifle, however, it just floats the BB in the middle of the barrel to prevent it from bouncing, excellent for CQB from what I hear.

5. 6GUN

6GUN New Member

Thanks fellas. I'm new to airsoft and thought of getting a rifled barrel for my gun. Sounds like a waste of time though. My local field is outdoor with a couple of cqb huts in it.

6. theonlyBuster

theonlyBuster Active Member Lifetime Supporter

S. Florida
    They exist and have been out for a looong time.
    Here's the nitty gritty. They don't work at all on guns shooting over 350FPS.
    They were originally made for TM guns. I've seen a couple in action, I was somewhat impressed with the accuracy, but you have to use high quality BBs. You instantly know low quality BBs because they actually spiral in flight.

7. AirsoftimusPrime

AirsoftimusPrime New Member

Satellite Beach
    No real point in a rifled barrel, especially with a hop-up.

8. Archer627

Archer627 New Member

Figgington
    Unless you use the prototype aspherical rounds:).

9. Star_folder

Star_folder New Member

Lexington
    Which are useless anyway.

10. Mel

Mel New Member

Marietta