Teching Challenges

Discussion in 'Gun Building, Modifications & Repairs' started by chumbro, Nov 26, 2012.

1. chumbro

chumbro New Member

wilsonville
    So tonight, I got to thinking about airsoft (as usual)., and I pondered upon a very interesting question. What makes a good tech good? What are the benchmarks that separate a good tech, from a bad tech?
    Being a beginner tech, I got to wondering how one becomes a good tech. I first thought of learning how to shim, and correct AOE, but I stopped there. So, I had this neat little idea. How about we make a list of challenges that someone could do to become a good tech? For example:

1. Preform a good shim job

2. Correct AOE

And so forth.

So, what do you guys think?

And maybe, if you post pictures if you completing each task, you could label you a "tech". I don't know. Just a thought.

2. Ehudakineyah

Ehudakineyah New Member

Mililani
    Sounds cool lol but we'll see.

What separates a good tech from a bad tech would be more of a person who can diagnose a problem correctly. And fix them as planned no matter what kind of problem encountered. Which would be hard to put up on here lol.

A good tech doesn't stress out and get pissed at the work. And tell the customer that they just need to buy a new gun (not the obvious stuff). Seen this happen a lot with the guys I train... And I get the grunt of it from the customer.

As for tech work in general, it would depend on what the person is good for. What are there strengths and weaknesses. If the person is better at fixing a problem more then their upgrading ability. Or doing external/fabricating work better then internal work. But should be more all around.

A good tech would have to show his or her tech work on an assortment of guns/gearboxes. Their best build down to the simple builds. Consistency is also a good thing to look for. Cleanliness as well.