the ol' plate carrier talk

Discussion in 'Clothing / Gear' started by NerfHurrDurr, Aug 3, 2020.

1. NerfHurrDurr

NerfHurrDurr Member

In the market for a plate carrier but kinda on a budget, just looking for advise on the best budget PC's

2. Guges Mk3

Guges Mk3 Well-Known Member Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Minneapolis
    Go cheap...get weak stitching...do you have any size requirements? Don't want a postage stamp on the hulk ya'know...it would look funny.

3. NerfHurrDurr

NerfHurrDurr Member

I am the smol but tubby size

4. Beetlebz

Beetlebz Well-Known Member

New Milford
    What size are we talking? I have some experience in tubby sizes.

5. NerfHurrDurr

NerfHurrDurr Member

5'5" hovering around the 200 mark

6. Beetlebz

New Milford
    And what's your goal? Utility? Clone correct? Actually running plates?

7. NerfHurrDurr

NerfHurrDurr Member

Utility and mock plates

8. Beetlebz

New Milford
    I really enjoy the AR500 veritas. Mine came with a skeletonized cummerbund which was a little small on me, but it also comes with the option for a simple side strap to connect the front and back plates. The carrier itself is minimalist and small, makes me look like I'm trying to hide behind a postage stamp, but fits and works really well. Holds 10x12 shooter cut plates great. I have soft 3A plates in one and its served me well.

I used to run a flyye RRV reproduction also for airsoft. Its more of a full bib chest rig than a plate carrier but it can be made to carry plates if you get the back panel for it.

Both are large feller friendly and I have run both. The condor MOPC fits me but the straps are super weird and don't line up for me at all. Im 6'1" 330.

9. Raven1st

Raven1st Well-Known Member

San Ramon valley
    Buy once, CRYE once.
    JPC 2.0 with MOLLE front flap, GMR Kydex mag insert, BFG Stackable 10 Speed triple, KAP plate pads (GreyShop) and PIG BRIG MK1 shoulder pads is so nice.