Upgrade Help

Discussion in 'Gun Building, Modifications & Repairs' started by Asian, Dec 1, 2012.

1. Asian

Asian New Member

First off I would like to say I'm new to using forums but not playing airsoft. I've been playing for around 8 years now. Anyways, I'm working on my next gun purchase and have decided that the new JG M4 S-System would do nicely after some upgrades, I want to be able to reach out and touch someone from far far away, so I've picked out a few upgrades to help bump up my FPS and want a second and possibly third opinion on if the upgrades would work with my gun and if they would do what I want them to or if i should get different ones.

The upgrades:
    -Deepfire 150 Non-Linear Spring
    -Bravo Polycarbonate Piston with 10 Metal Teeth
    -Bravo Aluminum "Mushroom" Piston Head

Will these work in a stock JG S-System gearbox?

2. Southpawlegend

Southpawlegend New Member

Salisbury
    If you want distance you'd be better off upgrading your hop up and possibly a barrel upgrade

3. Rocky

Rocky New Member

Superior
    Yes, he struck the nail on the head.Fps doesn't really have anything to do with range,Better off upgrading barrel and hop up.Like said above.

4. Asian

Asian New Member

It actually already has a 6.03 installed, but I might just add a hop up unit in with all the other upgrades. I feel like i need high FPS so that it won't lose momentum over long distance.

Last edited: Dec 1, 2012
  5. Southpawlegend

Salisbury
    Then hop up is your key. Upgrading the spring will slow your ROF and add stress to your gearbox consider shimming and angle of engagement correction

6. Thestig

Thestig Some say... Supporting Member

Colorado Springs and Southern California
    FPS has nothing to do with range and accuracy. The hopup and barrel do.

Look into hopup mods, and the R hop. They are more worth your time for accuracy improvement than the parts you listed, and cheaper.

7. Asian

Asian New Member