Why is Speed Soft/SpeedQB Such a Polarizing Topic?

Discussion in 'General Airsoft Discussion' started by Bullpup GOD, Jan 25, 2018.

1. Bullpup GOD

Bullpup GOD Member

Decatur
    After taking about a 2 yea break from the sport, I got back into airsoft back in November. When I was younger, I was hardcore MilSim. Realistic loadout, tactics, etc. Then, I didn't understand what war was like. I thought it was cool and killing terrorists was awesome. Fast foward to 15 years old(bio is incorrect) and a dozen Vice documentaries later, I no longer want airsoft to be realistic. I don't want to pretend like I'm a real soldier. It never occurred to me when I was younger how violent and brutal war is, and I finally understand. Therefore, I switched to speedsoft. Blazing out of the darkness in lightweight gear and a colorful mask seemed a bit more exciting to me. It is more of a sport than MilSim, but I have already gotten a bit of hate for it. At my new school, I found a group of friends who play airsoft, and we go almost every week. most of them are pretty casual about it and aren't really milsim or speedsoft. 1 kid in particular, and his DAD even, question why I play speedsoft. The kid always thinks Speedsoft is cancer etc. I don't like MilSim, but i don't activley hate on it. His DAD even told me to stop using my HiCapa and use an AEG and actual tactics. I of course do not care what they think, but why is Speedsoft VS. Milsim so controversial. Why can't we all just coexist and recognize our differences and appreciate the sport of airsoft. I should probably do an introduction article, but i'm too lazy for that lol. If you've read this far, thanks for reading it all. Please post an unbiased reply, in either direction.

Topshotz357 and BOA_SP3CT3R like this.
  2. draysterl96

draysterl96 Member